axis888x

flying couch (chronic)les

finally sold my 240 slag, got my tax return and bought my 1jz. i plan on building a well rounded drift sedan out of my x73. I ended up going with the VVTi version since my roommate has a r154 from a 7mgte that i snagged. also after a little research there seemed to be no reason to get a non vvti motor. this is my first build thread so it will be pretty choppy probably.

here she is when i bought her, sitting next to my trusty wagon.
7415839872_2514c0a10a_c.jpg

kept my 3-piece wantanabes and threw them on. they look awesome.
7415808174_8a32e05c91_c.jpg

then the motor got here
7415808002_2f52d82e30_c.jpg

7415807498_40d8b7212e_c.jpg

abridged plans so far:

1JZ VVTi
R154
ACT 6-puck clutch
Xcessive mounts
SerialNine coilovers/ subframe bushings
Z32 brakes
Driftmotion IC kit ✓

so when i got the motor we did a compression test and all cylinders read 90 except for one which read 120. right now i am tearing down the motor to find out what is the problem. i have never done anything this involved on a car so this will be a crazy learning experience.

Shoulda kept your 240. X7 drift car haha. School ain't cheap. Especially the one you just enrolled in

i came to that realization a little before i sold it. can a x7 really drift anywhere near as well as a 240?

with all the extra work i'll become a better mechanic instead of being a bolt-on mastah even if there is more downtime. got the motor nearly torn down, the exhaust manifold is weird looking. are those flex tubes really necessary?

7415807058_977c471701_c.jpg

EDIT:

got the motor on the stand and did more teardown stuff. trying to figure out how to get in inside so i can just pull an all nighter and get it done.

7415805922_ae3b6e3607_c.jpg